Shri. V. Somanna
 Housing Minister

Shri. Manoj Kumar Meena
Secretary to Government, Government of Karnataka

  • 1
  • 2
  • KSDB
11 22 33
Animation Gallery by v4.4

Karnataka Real Estate (Regulation and Development) Rule-2017 - NOTE

Karnataka Real Estate (Regulation and Development) Rule-2017 - NOTE - 26-07-2017

The Karnataka Real Estate (Regulation and Development) Rules-2017

Please note that July 31, 2017 is the last date for registration under RERA Act. Please visit RERA Karnataka Portal for registration.

RERA web portal can be accessed at

About Us...

The composite Department of Housing and Urban Development was bifurcated through government order no. DPAR 391 SE A Se 95 dated 22-11-95. Since then the Department of Housing is working as an independent Department. The Department of Housing is headed by a Principal Secretary to the Government. The state government accords high priority to public housing for the socially and economically weaker sections both in rural and urban areas. These objectives are achieved by implementing its own housing programmes and also effectively implementing Centrally Sponsored Schemes. Housing needs of low income, middle income and high income groups are also catered for, apart from housing for slum dwellers as a part of their rehabilitation and improvement of slums. There are three organisations under the Department of Housing catering to housing needs of the various sections of the society, they are :

1. Rajiv Gandhi Housing Corporation Limited – It is a Corporation registered under Companies Act fully owned by the Government of Karnataka. It was established in the year 2000 with an authorised capital of Rs. 10 crores and paid up capital of Rs. 3 crores. The Main Objectives of RGHCL are as follows:
•  To provide housing for socially and economically weaker sections of society through effective implementation of State and Central Government schemes.
•   To promote cost effective environmental friendly innovative technologies in the field of housing.
•   To provide choice to the people in the housing design, material and technologies.
•   To design schemes for Special Groups like Widows, leprosy cured, HIV affected, Devadasis, Tribals, Nomadics etc..
•   To provide Group Housing for Special Occupation Groups, like; Artisans, Weavers, Beedi Workers, etc..
•   To promote extensive use of IT(Information Technology) for effective implementation of Government schemes.

2. Karnataka Housing Board – Established under Karnataka Housing Board Act 1962 as a successor to Mysore Housing Board constituted in 1956. The primary objective of KHB is 'to make such schemes and to carry out such works as are necessary for the purpose of dealing with and satisfying the need of housing accommodation'. With this directive KHB endeavors to provide housing to the people of Karnataka at affordable cost and therefore recognized as the most important agency for housing throughout Karnataka.

3. Karnataka Slum Development Board – Constituted during July 1975 under the Provisions of the Karnataka Slum Areas (Improvement Clearance) Act 1973. The Board consists of 5 nominated Non-Official Members and 8 Official Members and the Chairman is the Head of the Board. The Commissioner of the Board is the Chief Executive Officer and responsible for implementation of programmes of the Board. The main objective of the Board is to provide basic amenities to the slum dwellers and to provide shelter to the needy in the slums.

Designed and Maintained by Department of Housing